Announcing the Advisory Board

March 31, 2014 in advisoryboard, featured

We’re very pleased to announce the first Open Education Working Group Advisory Board.


The board are made up of a distinguished and diverse cast of open education advocates from different countries and areas of work.

A call for nominations for the advisory board was agreed during a working group call and launched through the Website and Twitter feed. A shortlist of candidates was agreed on by the Open Knowledge Foundation team by assessing individuals based on appropriateness, location and sector.

The current Advisory Board has 6 members:

  • Karien Bezuidenhout, Chief Operating Officer at the Shuttleworth Foundation
  • Lorna M. Campbell, Assistant Director of the Centre for Education, Technology and Interoperability Standards
  • Dr. Cable Green, Director of Global Learning at Creative Commons
  • Joonas Mäkinen, Finnish maths teacher carrying out exciting open text book work
  • Bernard Nkuyubwatsi, initiator of the Open Education Rwanda Network
  • Rayna Stamboliyska, founder of RS Strategy and OpenMENA

A full list of the Advisory Board members and their respective biographies can be on the Advisory Board page.

Introductory blog posts from the Advisory Group members will follow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *